Moments Frozen in Time

7YHHDRJ5GJEAJN4PKNPJSDV3YU

December 7, 1941 was a day that lived on in the minds and memory of my parents. They remembered fine details of what each of them were doing that day and never forgot them. Events that day directed and shaped their lives and those of millions more.

In my own lifetime, January 28, 1986 became a date to remember. I was in my science classroom grading papers with a few students who weren’t involved in a school-wide activity. A student came to my door to ask me if I had heard the news. Going outside my room, looking to the horizon where I’d have my classes watch on other occasions I saw the enormous cloud from the Challenger explosion. I had submitted an application for NASA’s Teacher in Space program and been passed over. I knew very well about the launch but had ignored it. That cold sunny morning the chill I felt was a mixture of sadness, anguish, and remorse realizing my moment in time could have been completely different. The date became a milestone of remembrance to me.

AP8601281739

So too, today, September 11, 2001 is another important date to remember within my own generation. I was at my work station that morning working on some manuscript. It was my job to search out information for projects so I was often monitoring things on the web. My supervisor came to me asking if I’d tapped into the news feeds yet. As soon as I did we all were aware of what was happening and became a part of the collective memory of what unfolded that tragic day. To me and many other people on that particular day, 911 took on an additional meaning.

AP_010911122413

It’s been 78 years since our nation experienced the day in infamy.  We were touched again 33 years ago by the loss of Challenger. Today, we mark 18 years since our land was tragically again by the events in New York City, Washington D.C., and in Pennsylvania. How many of us remember those days? Do those events in time still have any importance or any lessons in learning for us? Today, I often wonder about that.

Look farther back in our history to the 19th Century and the causes contributing to the American War Between the States and the lack of awareness and understanding is more frightening. Following that struggle, our nation continued for almost another 100 years to acknowledge more national equality to the people of color. What lessons did we learn?

indexToday, the farther we get over time from key events the more their meaning seems to be diminished or altogether forgotten. The entire Greatest Generation is nearly gone from us and people sometimes question the existence of some of the World’s most atrocious acts of inhumanity that occurred during WWII. According to studies done, students in school often don’t even know enough about the last global war to avoid repeating many of the actions that caused it. That’s not a good thing.

rock-pile-guidance-380151When we find our collective memory of key events and factors marking our history disappearing it’s time to reevaluate how we look at things. We’ve seen oppressed people in Eastern Europe tearing down statues and walls that divided them but we don’t need to remove or destroy our own monuments. Remembering all of these events and things are important to our understanding of ourselves. Our history helps us to find relevance in our lives and direction. All of these things serve as reminders and guideposts for us today.

Eons ago, early people would erect piles of stones as guideposts and reminders to help them find their way. It was a tried and true method for remembering important things. Let’s look at what we have today and use it to anchor us as we make our future.

Author Larry French is a Floridian and living history reenactor. He served as Executive Director of the West Volusia Historical Society and provides historical narration for Great Tasting Tours of DeLand. He is also the author of, Grand Hotels of West Volusia County, by Arcadia Publishers. Grand Hotels of West Volusia County was written to increase awareness of the areas’ past and relevant surviving landmarks. More on his activities and writing can be found at http://www.larryfrenchhistoricalnovelist.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment